



UECE Conference on Economic and Financial Adjustments in Europe

ISEG/UTL – School of Economics and Management/Technical University of Lisbon, Lisbon, 29 June 2012



UECE (Research Unit on Complexity and Economics) and ISEG are organising a one-day Conference on *Economic and Financial Adjustments in Europe*. In the aftermath of the 2008-2009 economic and financial crisis several EU countries started to implement processes of economic and financial adjustment. In such demanding environment, the smooth operation of the euro area also faces new challenges. In this context we invite submissions addressing notably the following issues:

- economic and financial adjustment processes;
- economic imbalances;
- country issues;
- challenges to monetary policy;
- challenges to fiscal policies.

There will be several contributed sessions. A panel discussion is planned, notably with:

<u>Michael Arghyrou</u> (Cardiff Business School, Cardiff University), <u>João Ferreira do Amaral</u> (UECE; ISEG/UTL), <u>John Driffill</u> (Birkbeck College, University of London; CEPR), <u>Ludger Schuknecht</u> (Federal Ministry of Finance, Germany), <u>Jürgen von Hagen</u> (University of Bonn; Indiana University; CEPR).

Important dates: **30 April 2012** Deadline for submission of papers; **15 May 2012** Acceptance decisions **30 May 2012** Submission of final version of papers.

Submissions: Papers in pdf format should be submitted electronically to: uece@iseg.utl.pt
Further information will be available at: http://pascal.iseg.utl.pt/~uece/efae2012

Program Committee: António Afonso (UECE; ISEG/UTL; ECB), Philip Arestis (Cambridge University; University of the Basque Country), Roel Beetsma (University of Amsterdam; CEPR; CESifo), Mário Centeno (UECE; ISEG/UTL; Banco de Portugal), Jakob de Haan (De Nederlandsche Bank; University of Groningen), Gilles Dufrénot (Banque de France; CEPII; Aix-Marseille School of Economics), Hubert Kempf (CES - Sorbonne Economic Centre; École Normale Supérieure de Cachan), Peter McAdam (ECB; University of Surrey), Miguel St. Aubyn (UECE; ISEG/UTL), Volker Wieland (Goethe University of Frankfurt).

Local organising committee: António Afonso (UECE; ISEG/UTL; ECB), Francisco Nunes (UECE; ISEG/UTL), Joana Pais (UECE; ISEG/UTL). Secretariat: Sandra Araújo (UECE).